The River Company (Radford)

rivercompanyA beautiful restaurant with a beautiful view – if you don’t get lost first.

Meat: aged and expensive
Location: big and beautiful
Beer: housemade and cheap
Value options: lacking

He said: The New River Valley’s “other” brewery is quite the site. It looks like a giant ski or hunting lodge perched atop a cliff overlooking a scenic river that, unfortunately, has Radford on the other side of it. The interior continues that lodge-esque feeling, giving off a comfortable, relaxing vibe. It really is quite an impressive location.

photoAs for their beer, it’s a little less than impressive. Don’t get me wrong, it certainly isn’t bad, but their recipes tend to lack a little bit of oomph and pizaaz. I guess what I’m saying is they’re quaffable but boring. Every now and then, though, they’ll come out with a seasonal that will satisfy even my discerning hop palate  Most recently, that libation was a double IPA that knocked my socks off. It was quite good.

Their food is pretty good but I haven’t tried most of it. That’s mostly because pretty much the whole menu consists of aged beef that runs $25+. Unfortunately I’m not at the point in my life where I can afford that sort of expense for dinner. If I could, perhaps I would sing amazing praises for the place; maybe their aged steaks are really that good. But as it is, I’ve been relegated to their sandwich selection.

I’m going to recommend the burger; it’s one of the best in the area. And it should be. If their steaks cost that much and are that fancy, imagine what they’re using for their burgers. It basically tastes like a steak in a bun. You won’t find much better.

If they had a more extensive menu for poor folks like me, I’d probably give them a bit of a higher rating. As it is…

Grade: B

She said: The very first time we came here was a rainy December eve – I honestly didn’t think there was anything out there and we’d end up in the river or someone’s backyard. I was happily incorrect.

photo (1)

Mixed greens? Looks like boring ol’ iceberg.

We’ve eaten here a few times before – nothing incredible but nothing bad either. This particular night I ordered the Black and Blue Salad. Steak, eggs, bacon – the usual. The steak was very good and cooked medium rare exactly as I’d asked. Everything else was a little lackluster and rather small considering the price – $16 for a salad plate full of crappy ‘mixed greens’ (mostly iceberg) and 8 pieces of steak.

My recommendation: throw in a little more moo and put it on spinach and we’d have a pretty rockin’ salad.

As the Mr. mentioned, we haven’t tried most of the menu because it’s a tad pricey. I imagine their steaks are great so maybe one day, I’ll deplete my iron count enough to order one of those.

This place is out there, but it’s a nice stop if you’re willing to shell out some moolah. Their porch is awesome and they have good happy hour beer prices.

Grade: B-

The River Company Restaurant and Brewery on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

